Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu

Our Team

The Political Science program has a distinguished faculty that combines research excellence with a strong commitment to undergraduate education. Several faculty members have received outstanding teaching awards, including two recipients of the Idaho Professor of the Year Award from the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, two University Distinguished Professors, two Golden Apple award winners and recipients of numerous other awards. Faculty research appears regularly in the discipline’s leading journals and has been supported by grants from such prestigious bodies as the National Science Foundation and the Fulbright Scholar Program. Our professors have published over 30 books and more than 220 academic articles and book chapters — far more than any other Political Science Department in Idaho. In addition, various faculty members have served as consultants to federal, state, and local government agencies. Our students benefit from mentoring by our faculty; our recent students have been accepted at first-rate graduate programs and law schools across the United States — including Cornell, The University of Texas, The University of Illinois, Harvard University, The London School of Economics and Political Science, New York University, University of California: Los Angeles, The Ohio State University, Notre Dame University and Michigan State University.

Our Office

Environmental Research Building (ERB)


Michael AllenMichael A. Allen

Associate Professor
(208) 426-2518

Nisha BellingerNisha Bellinger, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Ross BurkhartRoss Burkhart, Ph.D.

Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator
(208) 426-3280

Isaac CastellanoIsaac Castellano, Ph.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor, Internship Coordinator
(208) 426-2534

Stewart GardnerStewart Gardner, Ph.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor
(208) 426-1458

Lori HauseggerLori Hausegger, Ph.D.

Department Chair, Associate Professor, Director, Canadian Studies Program, ​ Director of NEW Leadership Idaho
(208) 426-5804

Jaclyn KettlerJaclyn J. Kettler, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
(208) 426-2540

Richard KinneyRichard Kinney, Ph.D.

Emeritus Faculty, Professor
(208) 426-3594

Jeffrey LyonsJeffrey Lyons, Ph.D

Assistant Professor
(208) 426-2542

Gary MoncriefGary Moncrief, Ph.D.

Emeritus Faculty, University Distinguished Professor
(208) 426-3686

Alex SeversonAlex Severson, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor

Stephen UtychStephen Utych, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
(208) 426-3607

Julie Vandusky-AllenJulie Vandusky-Allen, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Brian WamplerBrian Wampler, Ph.D.

(208) 426-2650

Scott YenorScott Yenor, Ph.D.

(208) 426-4192

Emeritus Faculty

Gregory RaymondGregory Raymond, Ph.D.

Emeritus Faculty, University Distinguished Professor, Frank & Bethine Church Chair of Public Affairs
(208) 426-3670

Adjunct Faculty

If the professor you are looking for is not on the table above, visit the Adjunct Faculty page.


Valerie Hayes

Administrative Assistant II, Undergraduate Program Support and Graduate Course Scheduling
(208) 426-2530

Twyla Perkins

Administrative Assistant II, Graduate Program Support
(208) 426-2532